
Deadlines 
If a payment date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or 
holiday, the due date is the following business day. 

Business Personal Property 
Report by May 1. 
Pay by October 5.* 

Real Estate 
First installment: Pay by July 28. 
Second installment: Pay by December 5. 

Business, 
Professional and 
Occupational License 
File and pay by March 1. 
(or within 75 days for 
new businesses). 

Tax Relief 
File by April 1. 
(December 31, of the following year for 
hardship or first-time filers.) 

Dog Licenses 
Renew by January 31. 

•Vehicles new to the county must be registered within 
60 days. For vehicles bought or moved to the county 
on or after July 1, payment is due February 15, the 
following year. A local motor vehicle license plate tax 
and penalty of $350 is imposed on owners of motor 
vehicles in Fairfax County who do not properly display 
Virginia license plates. 
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Ways to Pay 
6 By credit card* or e-check at: 

www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta (property only). 

8 By credit card* at 1-800-272-9829. (You 
must enter Jurisdiction code: 1030, when 
using this service.) TTY 711. 

8 Real estate and personal property taxes can be 
paid at any of the following banks in Fairfax 
County only. You must have your bill and 
pay the exact amount due. Credit cards are 
not accepted. 

® Bank of America (check or cash). 

® Sun Trust Bank (check or cash). 

° Pay your personal property tax (only) 
with cash at the customer service desk 
in Shoppers Food locations in Northern 
Virginia. A $1.25 processing fee will be 
charged by processing agent Global 
Express for each bill paid. For a list of 
other participating retailers, visit 
www.globalexpress.net, click on store 
locator. 

* A service fee is charged for credit card 
payments. 

To anonymously report vehicles or 
businesses that may be evading 

county tax laws, go to 
www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta/taxevaders 

To request this information in an alternate format, 
contact the Department of Tax Administration at 
703-222-8234, TTY 703-222-7594. 

2016 
Business Personal 

Property Tax 
Information 

Fairfax County 
Department of Tax 

Administration (DTA) 
www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta 

Email: dtappd@fairfaxcounty.gov 

12000 Government Center Parkway 
Suite 223 

Fairfax, VA 2203 5 

Phone: 703-222-8234 

TTY: 703-222-7594 

Fax: 703-324-3500 
Hours 

Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

Counter open until 6:30 p.m. on Thursdays. 

A Fairfax County, VA publication. 



Genera! Information 

> The purpose of Form 2TA is to report the total ^ 
purchase cost of all owned, leased or rented 
business property located in Fairfax County on 
Jan. 1. Title Section 58.1-3109(6) Code ofVirginia 
requires taxpayers or their agents to furnish 
information relating to tangible personal property 
and requires such persons to furnish access to their 
books of accounts or other papers and records for 
the purpose of verifying information necessary to 
make a complete and accurate assessment. 

> All owned assets must be reported even if 
fully depreciated or expensed for accounting 
purposes. 

> 
> Capitalized leases are treated as owned property 

and must be included in either Schedule 1 or 2, 
depending on the type of property. All other leased 
or rented property is reported in Schedule 3. 

> Purchase cost is the full capitalized or expensed 
original cost, including sales tax, freight, setup and 
installation of all tangible personal property. 

> Automobiles, trucks, vans, motorcycles, RVs, 
campers, boats, boat motors, airplanes and mobile y 
homes must be reported separately on a Personal 
Property Vehicle Registration form. Do not 
report them on this form. 

> Property reported on this form is not proratable 
and is taxed for the entire year even if sold 
or moved out of the county after Jan. 1. 
County Ordinance Section 4-17. 1-5. Proration. 
(E) The personal property taxes on all other tangible ^ 
personal property subject to taxation by this Article 
shall not be prorated. (57-93-4; 37-96-4.) 

> To avoid late filing penalty (10 percent), a 
completed filing must be postmarked or returned 
no later than May 1, 2016, to the Department of 
Tax Administration, 12000 Government Center 
Parkway, Suite 223, Fairfax, VA 22035, or fax to 
703-324-3500. 

'> Do not include payment with your return. You will 
be billed later. 

Completing Form 2TA 

Complete Form 2TA in its entirety. If information 
is preprinted, review for accuracy. Record changes 
in "Disposed" or "Acquired" columns only. Do not 
alter the preprinted cost figures (cost of property as 
reported in 2015) located in column 1 of Schedule 1 
or Schedule 2. 

If there are changes to the preprinted cost figures due to 
disposals or transfers in/out, you must provide detailed 
documentation including asset description, original 
cost, purchase year, and date of change supporting these 
changes. Without documentation, prior year additions 
may be subject to omitted assessments being made. 

Schedule 1 - Report the total purchase cost of all 
tangible personal property (except computer and motor 
vehicles) located in Fairfax County on Jan. 1 of each 
year, including but not limited to furniture, equipment, 
tools, and signs used in any business or profession; 
artwork, machines and tools, trunk and feeder cables, 
and studio equipment of cable television businesses. 
Telephones and other telecommunications equipment, 
medical equipment, audio/visual equipment, and 
security systems are reported on Schedule 1. 

Schedule 2 - Report the total purchase price of 
computer equipment (mainframe, mid-range, personal 
computers and computer peripherals, i.e., printer, 
plotters, external modems, etc.) located in Fairfax 
County on Jan. 1 of each year. Only report operating 
software required to operate the systems. Do not report 
application software, such as Excel, Word, accounting, 
inventory or sales tracking software. 

Schedule 3 - Report operating leases only. Code of 
Virginia Title 58.1-3518 requires lessees to report all 
tangible personal property leased from others. Also 
complete if the business is operated from leased 
premises by giving name and address of owner. 
Capitalized leases are to be reported on Schedule 1 or 
Schedule 2, depending on the type of property. 

> Leasing firms (lessors) must file a return in their own 
name. To ensure proper assessment use Schedule 1 
for furniture and fixtures and Schedule 2 for computer 
equipment. 

> A complete itemized list detailing all the tangible 
property owned by your company as filed on this 
form must be furnished. The data should include a 
description of the asset, the original purchase cost 
and the year acquired. Leasing firms (lessors) should 
also include the name and address of the lessee. 
This information should be provided in a printed or 
electronic media format. Incomplete forms may be 
returned. Penalties may apply. 

Important Information: 
• Complete Schedules 1,2&3 and attach a 

detailed asset listing. If this information is 
not provided as prescribed, the form will be 
considered incomplete and may be returned. 
If applicable, late filing penalties will be 
applied. 

• As required in the Code ofVirginia Title 
58.1-3518, business tangible personal 
property tax returns shall include 
information as to the total of original cost 
by year of purchase. The cost should be 
the original capitalized cost or the cost that 
would have been capitalized if the expense 
deduction in lieu of depreciation was 
elected under Section 179 of the Internal 
Revenue Code. 

• A late filing penalty will be assessed for each 
schedule if not filed or postmarked by 
May 1,2016 (10 percent of assessed tax). 

• Please sign, return and provide contact 
phone number. Unsigned returns will be 
considered incomplete and may be returned. 
If applicable, late filing penalties may apply. 

• Please input NAICS Code as it appears on 
the Federal Tax Return for your business. 


